Body scrubs and Bath salts, oh my!

I began to find many really nice recipes for bath and body products and then started scouring the web for more.  I have found more body scrub recipes, bath bombs, bath fizzies, lip gloss and bath salts than you can shake a stick at.  So far I have made Lemon Hand Scrub and Brown Sugar Almond body scrub but have the ingredients to make several bath salts and homemade liquid soap!  Today I am going to make more Lemon Hand Scrub and maybe more Brown Sugar Almond body scrub.

I made enough for my Christmas list but one of my catering clients asked to buy 3 of each for her staff`s Christmas gifts.  They were very well received and everyone was happy . . . except for me because now I have to make more!!!  Like any other Pinterest advocate, I went out and found some awesome metal buckets left over from the summer at my local dollar store, some pretty shredded filler, wired ribbon and various ornaments (including mini disco balls!!!) that I will use to tie onto the handles, fill with the bath products and Viola!  Christmas gifts!

Yes, as you can tell, I am losing my mind with this stuff.  I have to cater 2 dinner parties this week plus my normal personal chef clients along with my own family Christmas Eve and Christmas day dinners . . . oh yeah and we have our annual Boxing Day Chinese dinner to cook too.  Here I am making body scrub and decorating pails . . . I should be Facebooking or texting my friends like normal people, but no, I am obsessed with my Pinterest project board today and can only focus on completing what I have pinned so far before I go out and look for more websites!

So, the Lemon Hand Scrub I found at this site

http://www.bystephanielynn.com/2010/05/lemon-sugar-hand-scrub-for-mom.html

I found that the original recipe was a little too oily for me so I added more sugar until I liked the consistency.  I also wanted a more lemony product so I added some lemon zest and lemon extract it really smells yummy!  My daughter Jake (the smart mouthed one . . .oh yeah, both girls are that way but she is the one who made the Mason jar and burlap comment) is a handwasher and hates the film the olive oil leaves behind, I really like it though.  I have used my own scrub after making pastry and it gets all the gook off my hands easily and also looks pretty sitting beside my sink!

The Brown Sugar Almond body scrub was the opposite of the Lemon Hand scrub, I found it too dry . . . so I added some olive oil and it`s just lovely.  I have used it twice now and after my shower my skin feels so soft and the olive oil really helps keep the moisture in my skin.  I found the recipe at this site

http://radmegan.blogspot.com/2011/01/soothe-winter-skin-with-this-homemade.html

At this point, my kitchen counters are covered in sugar, oil and extract and I am trying to clean up.  Instead, I use my handy hot glue gun to glue the lids to the rings for my mason jar containers and then decorate them with pretty ribbons.  I printed some labels stuck them on the jars and there you have it!

Once I finished up the scrubs, I got out the ingredients to make the bath salts.  There is a product at Bath and Body works that has an orange ginger scent that I adore, I have used the soap and body lotion for years so I decided to make orange ginger bath salts.  I got the basic recipe from this site

http://candleandsoap.about.com/od/bathbody/ss/basicbathsalts.htm

I doubled the salt mixture amounts and I added ground ginger and orange essential oil until I thought it smelled right.

After letting it sit for about an hour, I put the salts into the jars then got out my hot glue gun to decorate the lids.

I know this is only the second post, but really I am not feeling better about my addiction, as a matter of fact, last night I really wanted to go on Pinterest and find some new projects or surf the web for more interesting crafting sites. . . crap, I so should have done some surfing, I got 2 new followers this morning for my Project board, oh well, they will have to wait until after Christmas to be entertained.

Leave a comment